A one-stop solution for household management

A one-stop solution for household management

·

3 min read

Day 3 of #100DaysOfTechStartup

14. January 2021

According to the challenge, today I will present my idea to the public to gain some valuable feedback. In this post I will talk about what I want to achieve with hmstr_app

The problem

When grocery shopping I often find myself buying stuff, even if I still have enough of it at home, or I forget to put it on my shopping list at all and I am missing a vital ingredient for a dish I want to prepare. In the end this even leads to food waste.

Apps like bring will allow you to create and share digital shopping lists. You can even create shopping lists from recipes. But the app does not know what you already have at home.

The goal

With hmstr_app I want to create a one-stop solution for household management.

You will be able to

  • create and share shopping lists
  • create and share "storage rooms" (e.g. pantry, fridge)
  • add members to your household
  • plan meals in advance
  • generate shopping lists based on planned meals, considering the items in your storage
  • receive notifications when products are about to spoil
  • set a minimum amount for products in your storage and receive notifications when you are running low
  • receive recipe suggestions based on food you have at home and food that is about to spoil
  • and much more.

I have lots of ideas for the future, but this is the core concept.

Let me know, what you think about it! Suggestions? Questions? No matter what, drop it in the comments below. But please be nice!

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Let's build something awesome!

Nathan H.