My typical day

My typical day

·

7 min read

Inspired by @cassiecodes and @SaraSoueidan on twitter, I want to tell you a bit about a typical day in my life. Apparently this trend was started by Colin Devroe

I am tagging Tech Hustler and Pratham Prasoon to share their typical days as well, but if you come across this text, feel free to take part in the challenge as well, leave a reply and I will link to your post here.

For me, there is nothing more important, than a consistent schedule. Even minor changes in my day like having a doctors appointment (like today) or something similar, easily bring me off balance. I don't manage to always stick exactly to my schedule, but there are major routines which I have to follow in order for me to count it a good day.

Schedule

0630 - my alarm is set for 06:30 am, but usually I am too tired, so I re-set it to 07:00 am.

0700 - I then actually get up at 7 am, walk to the bathroom and then back to the living room. I have a quick chat with my girlfriend and then I actually go back to bed.

0715 - I try to meditate every day to practice mindfulness and start my day a bit more relaxed.

0745 - I actually leave the bed and get ready for the day. After that, I drink around 500 to 600ml of water, which is a habit I recently acquired. It helps re-hydrating my body, which in turn leads to me being able to focus better. Then, depending on the day, I will either go outside and walk the dog, or jump straight to work.

0815 - This is the time were I mostly start my work day. I open up my laptop and say hello to my co-workers usually sending along a funny gif. Until around 9am I will then continue to spend my time checking mails, the work chat, tickets and check my to-dos for the day. Meanwhile I will also have gone to the kitchen to prepare a cup of coffee.

0900 - It's time to dive in to do actual coding work. I try to really focus on the tasks and don't get distracted too much. Normally I do that until around 12pm.

1200 - It's time for lunch break! I recently acquired the habit to go for a quick 10 minutes run during my break. I am doing so, in order to get my head freed up, and also burn some extra calories, since I am currently doing intermittent fasting. After that I will warm up leftovers from the night before.

1230 - I spend some time socializing with my co-workers.

1300 - Break is over and I get back to work. I usually will make my third and last cup of coffee for the day. Shortly before the end of my work day, I will write my todos for the next day, in order to get everything I have on my mind written down and ready for tomorrow, so I don't forget anything.

1700 - I usually finish work at 5pm and then go for a long walk with the dog in order to clear up my mind again. I also will call my parents during the walk and have a quick chat with them, to see what they are up to.

1800 - I'm now back home and will relax a bit, watching some youtube and browser social media

1900 - Then I proceed to prepare dinner and after that I take the dog for another walk and pick up my girlfriend at work.

2030 - Now we are back home and have dinner. After that we go to bed.

2100 - I will now spend around 30-60 minutes working on my personal projects.

2200 - The last part of the day I spend with my girlfriend watching netflix and maybe read a few pages in a book.

2300-0000 - I usually try to go to sleep between 11pm and 12am.

That's it for a typical day in my life. Of course, as mentioned before, not every day is the same. Sometimes I have to get up earlier or often times I can't really fall asleep, so I sleep a bit longer in the morning. And also the schedule changes a bit over time. But overall this is the schedule that I try to stick to at the moment.

Also my weekends are way different from that!

Oh and by the way: this is in no way a perfect schedule for me. My ideal schedule would be shifted several hours behind. As a night owl I prefer working during night time and go to bed in the early morning around 6 am, rather than waking up at that time. But since I still got a normal day job to attend I'm still very happy with this schedule.